Masculins / OM - OL D-1

Last 16 of the Coupe de France

Published on 30 January 2007 at 9:17 AM
4 matches between L1 teams, including the “all-Olympian” clash… 2 teams from the National and 1 from the CFA… 16 teams hoping to reach the quarter-finals. But only 8 can do it…
There are still 11 L1 teams in the competition. 9 of them have won the trophy before: OM, Sochaux, OL, Lille, Sedan, Monaco, Nantes, PSG and Bordeaux. Only Lens and VA are looking for a first win in the competition. While PSG and Nantes have lifted “The Old Lady” since the year 2000, it’s not the same story for the other previous winners still in the running. It’s been a long time for Sochaux (1937), Lille (1955), Sedan (1961), OL (1973), Bordeaux (1987), OM (1989) and Monaco (1991).

There are still 2 L2 teams in the running, Montpellier, which won the competition in 1990, and Libourne, which made it to the quarter-finals in 2002. There are also 2 teams from the National: Vannes and Clermont. Clermont made the quarters in 1997 and 2005. Finally, the minnow of the last 16 is Montceau-les-Mines (CFA).

40 of the 89 trophies have been won by one of the 16 teams still in competition.

In the last 10 editions of the Coupe, 58% of the teams that qualified played their games at home. In 1999, this figure was only 25% and 38% in 2001.

Monaco–Sochaux, Tuesday January 30
Montpellier–Vannes, Tuesday January 30
Libourne–Sedan, Tuesday January 30
PSG–VA, Tuesday January 30
Nantes–Lille, Wednesday January 31
Clermont–Lens, Wednesday 31
Montceau–Bordeaux, Wednesday 31
OM–OL, Wednesday January 31

More news