Masculins / Nantes - OL D-4

Title No.12 ahead of Nantes clash

Published on 31 July 2006 at 12:20 PM
With victory over PSG, OL won their fifth consecutive Trophée des Champions, their 12th trophy since returning to the top flight in 1989/90. Now they turn to the start of the Ligue 1 season against Nantes this Friday.
An Intertoto Cup in 1997 along with Bastia and Auxerre; a Coupe de la Ligue in 2001 v. Monaco; 5 Trophées des Champions (v. Lorient, Auxerre x 2, PSG x 2) and 5 times French champions. 12 titles including 11 in the last seven seasons! Coupet has only missed one: Sunday’s win over PSG. Cacapa has ten. Diarra and Govou 9. Müller and Juninho 8... This seventh amazing season, which began on Sunday with the Trophée des Champions now continues with the start of the Ligue 1 season against Nantes.

Like Usual, the Olympians begin their L1 campaign on the road. After Lens in 2001/02 (0-2), Guingamp in 2002/03 (3-3), Lille 2003/04 (0-1), Nice in 2004/05 (1-0) and Le Mans in 2005/06 (2-1), Claudio Caçapa and Co. will start this season at the Stade de la Beaujoire, home of Ligue 1’s oldest club. The ‘Canaris’ will be competing in their 44th consecutive season in the top flight! Nantes have won the Trophée des Champions (2), the Coupe de France (3) and the League (8).

Les Nantais have hosted Lyon 37 times in the first division for 25 wins, seven draws and just five defeats. It’s a record that has taken some punishment since 2001: 3 losses, 1 draw and 2 wins. Serge Le Dizet’s squad completed its series of pre-season friendlies with a 1-0 defeat to Le Mans having earlier beaten Saint-Etienne 3-0 (Boukhari x 2, Diallo), lost to FC Tirol 1-0 and drawn againt Slovacko 2-2 (Diallo x 2). Les Canaris have seen plenty of changes during the off-season: Landreau, Toulalan, Quint, Delhommeau, Leray, Glombard, Bamogo and Bratu have left. Stojkovic, Cubilier, Boukhari, Wilhelmsson and Saïdou have arrived. Loïc Guillon has inherited the captain’s armband after Landreau’s departure for PSG.